PhD Scholarship Renewal Process in SCSE, NTU, Singapore

Since I started my PhD in SCSE, NTU in 2016 I had already have multiple experiences to waste my time for administrative tasks such as scholarship renewal or course exemption. This is because there is no clear instruction about the administrative work for students.

The administrative tasks are necessary but spending hours for them is definitely NOT necessary. 

This time, I again, spent a lot of time on scholarship renewal process. I pingpong-ed many emails with my supervisor and staffs from graduate office.

I am sharing the protocol of the scholarship renewal process here while hoping in the future other PhD students will not spend time on this unlike me.

< The protocol of scholarship renewal >

1. First make sure you have these documents ready

  1. Scholarship & QE Renewal Form
    1. a form is in SCSE GSIS
    2. Don’t get confused by the TAC report
  2. Transcript
    1. the latest transcript
  3. Student progress report
    1. no format
    2. report of the work done the last year of your PhD
  4. TAC report
    1. This can be prepared by a supervisor. (in my case, my supervisor did) It needs signatures of your TAC members.
    2. Strictly speaking, the signatures will be obtained from TAC members after you have an annual TAC meeting with them.

2. When the documents are ready, initiate scholarship renewal in SCSE GSIS. There is a button on the left side in SCSE GSIS.

3. Within 15 mins, you will receive an email from the GSIS system and it contains a link.

4. Follow the link and submit the first three documents.

  • Scholarship & QE Renewal Form
  • Transcript
  • Student progress report

5. After you complete the link, the system will send an email to your supervisor and the graduate office.

6. Submit the last document, TAC report to the graduate office. The TAC report can be submitted in either softcopy by email or hardcopy directly to the office.

  • TAC report is not submitted via SCSE GSIS

 

 

 

Leave a comment